~Chocolate Espresso Pancakes~

Do you ever just wake up one morning with a particular craving? A delicious breakfast you haven’t had in so long? For me sometimes these cravings tend to pop up the night before just as I am falling asleep and what recipe I would use to achieve my meal. Last night I began to have a serious yen for pancakes. Thinking about what recipe to try or even what flavor to choose. Most often I’ll find myself enjoying pancakes as simple as buttermilk or perhaps an adventurous batch of cinnamon apple from my favorite breakfast spot. I thought today I should think of something more out of the box and I noticed I have some leftover Espresso Powder from my holiday baking so why not?

Chocolate Espresso Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 Cup All Purpose Flour

1 Egg

2 Tsp Baking Powder

2 Tbsp Espresso Powder

2 Tbsp Cocoa Powder

2 Tbsp White Sugar

2 Tbsp Unsalted Butter melted

1 Tsp Vanilla

3/4 Cup Milk

(You will need: Spatula, wooden spoon, 1/4 measuring cup, griddle or large skillet, non stick spray or additional butter)

Directions:

  1. Begin with a large bowl and combine together the flour, baking powder, sugar, cocoa powder, and espresso powder in a sifter over the bowl. Sift the dry ingredients until combined.Choco Pancakes 1
  2. To the bowl add the egg, milk, vanilla, and unsalted butter and mix thoroughly with a wooden spoon trying to remove as many lumps as possible. A few leftover is fine though.
  3. With your skillet or griddle on medium heat, coat with either non stick spray or your choice of butter letting it lightly bubble. Using a 1/4 measuring cup, scoop a 1/4 cup of mix onto the heated surface and allow 2 to 3 minutes to cook before flipping over. Turn your heat down if necessary to prevent burning. (Tip: If you happen to be impatient like me, set a timer for yourself between each flip. Too much flipping around and you might break your pancake or under-cook it!) Recipe makes 5 to 6 small pancakes.
  4. As each pancake finishes cooking place them on a separate plate, preferably in a stack. Top with your favorite syrup, butter, or even a dusting of powdered sugar and enjoy!Choco Pancakes 2

A fantastic way to wake myself up if I do say so. My craving has now been satisfied and I have a new recipe to add to my breakfast section of notes! I have been devoting some time each day to work on my eventual book. I hope you all enjoyed sharing breakfast with me, until the next post!

Leave a Reply

