~Holiday festivities!~

I hope everyone has had a merry Christmas and a wonderful holiday! Work has been full of excitement and people grabbing last minute gifts like popcorn machines and kitchen aid attachments. There has also been quite a few large purchases such as stand mixers and microwave ovens, of course needing gift wrapping and fancy bows. (Wrapping a bulky microwave in its box is not at all easy.) I also received a fantastic little gift from one of my coworkers in the form of a candy sleigh. As a Pinterest fanatic like myself, she made sleighs for everyone at work and we adored them.

christmas 2

All around the world today can be heard the sounds of ripped paper as we all dive into the presents from friends and family. Of my gifts I received I have a new Nightvale flask, (brownie points to those who are fans of the show), and a wonderfully crocheted scarf from my girlfriend. With today being Christmas homes everywhere are bustling with cooking and merry making, with holiday music or movies playing the background. I mean who doesn’t turn on the annual 24 hour showing of “A Christmas Story”?

My family had the pleasure of entertaining a very dear friend from my mother’s childhood and we had many good laughs. Looking through old photos of relatives and raving about the meal we had prepared. Speaking of which the menu was an extraordinary accomplishment with how small the oven space feels at times. Today featured: goat cheese and roasted beet salad, roast beef with horseradish cream sauce, bacon and balsamic brussel sprouts, red bliss potatoes with caramelized onions, and for dessert peppermint whoopee pies and lemon chiffon mousse cake.

Now that becomes quite a mouthful for anyone and it certainly kept everyone full! My mother and sister did the bulk of the cooking while I spruced up the house and mixed up the base for the lemon chiffon. It is always enjoyable when you get to cook with your family and make new memories. Now with the day done and the dishwasher finally allowed to rest, food packed up, and photos stored away we now say goodnight to the holiday season. I am very excited for the new year and cannot wait to roll out a new round of recipes.  The best of holidays to all my mateys and thanks for sharing 2015 with me! I shall be ready to sail to the next horizon, ever at the helm for exciting new morsels and stories to share. Until the next post my friends!

One Comment Add yours

  1. I can’t believe the holidays are already over, gone in the blink of an eye. Best wishes for another delicious and happy year ahead!

Leave a Reply

