~Chocolate Maple Rum Eggnog~

Can anyone believe it’s just a week away from Christmas?! I’m more than excited as I dance around the kitchen, blasting my favorite Jethro Tull Christmas album. I do my best to ignore the constant stream of promotions noisily gabbing about some great gift idea or another from the television Anyone else find it annoying to have to turn down the volume when the commercials come on only to have to raise it again because the regular program is set too low? Might as well just leave the T.V. off and get back to the festivities!

It came to my attention that as much as I enjoy cooking with alcohol, I have not made time to think of a few good drinks to share with the family for the holidays. The first thought that comes to mind for the winter season is of course eggnog. (Although with the global temperature as it currently stands it sure doesn’t feel like winter.)

To me eggnog whether homemade or store bought is always best enjoyed with a bit of spice, and alcohol. It also helps to be inspired to throw a bit of chocolate into the mix as well.

Chocolate Maple Rum Eggnog

Ingredients:

1 Cup Whole Milk

1 Cup store bought Eggnog

3 oz Bittersweet Chocolate chopped

1/4 Cup Dark Maple Rum

1 Tbsp Granulated Sugar

1 Tsp Nutmeg plus and additional tsp

Whipped Cream (optional)

Pinch of Salt

Directions: 

  1. With a large saucepan on medium high heat bring together the milk and eggnog, allowing the mixture to come to a low boil.
  2. While mixing add in the sugar, nutmeg, bittersweet chocolate, salt, and dark maple rum. Continue mixing until it reaches a smooth consistency.eggnog 1
  3. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Serve in your favorite mug with a spoonful of whipped cream if you desire and the reserved nutmeg sprinkled on top.

eggnog 2

A festive and delicious drink to warm the heart this holiday! I definitely plan to enjoy a mug or two while opening presents this Christmas, although I need to remind myself to resupply my store of maple rum at some point. I hope you all enjoyed and plan to have plenty of delicious boozy drinks this holiday! Until the next post!

Leave a Reply

